How To Experience ‘Body Prayer’

In Bhakti Yoga, we use movement and breath to express deep devotion, aligning us to the deepest parts of ourselves, and opening us to connect with the Divine and each other. Ishvara Pranidhana is the fifth and final Niyama (or Observance) in Patanjali’s System of Yoga. Ishvara can be defined as Lord/God/Spirit/the Divine. Pranidhana means surrender–a willful and active surrender to God–the reality and beauty of life exactly AS IT IS in each breath.

This relationship is one of active presence and total surrender. To surrender the fruits of our actions to God requires that we give up our illusion that we know best, and instead accept and trust that the way life unfolds may be part of a pattern too complex and beautiful to understand. Only by releasing our fears and our hopes for the future can we really be in union with the present moment. Let all movements of body, mind, and spirit be rooted in the unconditional love of an open heart full of kindness and compassion while actively surrendering to the Divine. Whatever the question, Love is the answer.

SEE ALSO: 10 Surprising Health Benefits Of Aerial Yoga

Useful Definitions:

  • Yoga = union, a wholeness of body, mind, and spirit
  • Bhakti Yoga = yoga of devotion; root word bhaj = to adore or worship God
  • Karma Yoga = yoga of selfless action; a form of prayer. Karma Yoga is closely linked to Bhakti Yoga, for without love and devotion, it would be impossible to serve others selflessly.
  • Guru = the one who dispels the darkness and takes towards light; root words gu = darkness; ru = light
  • Selah = Hebrew for pause and reflect, calmly think of that

Body Prayer Experience: Complete 7 Rounds of Surya Namaskara A (Sun Salutations) with Intention

7 is a symbol of perfection, rest, intuition, and wisdom.

Round 1 — Devotion (Bhakti)
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 2 — Cleansing/Forgiveness for self and others
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 3 — Dedicate to a loved one
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 4 — Dedicate to a stranger or an acquaintance
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 5 — Challenge (lift up something in your life causing you difficulty or pain)
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 6 — Gratitude
Selah, pause and reflect

Round 7 — Devotion (Bhakti)
Selah, pause and reflect


  • What do I need to remember and know in this moment?
  • What soul messages am I receiving?

Closing Body Prayer

  1. Begin with hands at heart center in Anjali Mudra finding our inner quiet.
  2. Raise arms up high opening ourselves to God.
  3. Bring hands to heart center in Anjali Mudra, affirming the strength and truth of Divine wisdom.
  4. Extend hands out in front offering loving kindness and respect to others.
  5. Open arms out to sides contributing our unique gifts and purposes in this world.
  6. Extend arms high over our heads in reverence gazing up to God, being filled and guided.
  7. Draw hands together and down to heart center gathering in the blessings and sealing them in our heart and soul.
  8. Returning to stillness in Anjali Mudra with eyes closed bowing our head to our heart in gratitude.

The Divine is everywhere. Look beyond the story. Look at the soul. LOVE! How has the Spirit called you to serve? All of our experiences help create who we are, and, if we choose, propel us forward. May faith propel us forward. ❤


ShowHide Comments

Heather Wiest

6 Followers1 Following

Heather Wiest — LCSW, E-RYT®200, RYT®500, YACEP® — is beyond blessed to LOVE, SERVE and INSPIRE the community as a…

Daily Wellness Inspiration & News!

Complete Your Donation

Donation Amount

Personal Information

image description

Welcome back!

Don’t have an account yet? Join Here

image description

Join the Community

Join our growing community of mindful writers, and contributors. Follow your favorite authors and more!

Already have an account? Login here

image description

Reset your password

Send this to a friend