The Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras…

The Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras

If you have ever been to a yoga class, chances are you have heard about chakras. But what exactly are they? Chakras are the energy centers in our bodies, located along our spinal cord through which our energy flows. The word Chakra, from old Sanskrit, literally translates to the wheel, and the idea is that the chakras are supposed to spin and draw in energy to keep the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical wellbeing of the body in balance.

SEE ALSO: 13 Crucial Mantras You Need In Your Life


Before we dig into the chakras, it is important to get one misconception out of the way. The one thing that a lot of people don’t understand is that there is more than one chakra system in existence. The most famous version, the one described here, entails seven chakras (technically 6+1), but this became popular only after around 1600. Before that, there were many different schools that taught 5, 6, 7, all the way up to 28 different major chakras, with plenty more minor ones.

Now you are probably thinking, “Well, which one is true?” The answer depends on the tradition that you follow and the energy within that person. There are only three chakra centers that are universal to all forms, specifically, chakras in the lower belly, the heart, and the crown of the head since these are three places in the body where humans all over the world experience both emotional and spiritual phenomena.

Apart from those three though, there is a huge variety in the original literature in the number and location of chakras. As long as people accept that there is a lot that we don’t know at this point about the chakras, that should be good enough.


Chakras are primarily associated with Hinduism and Buddhism, and to understand the chakras you first have to understand a few concepts about these philosophies. The first concept that is fundamental to understanding chakra is prana. Prana in Sanskrit means “life force”, and that is how you should think of it, as a cosmic force, that is the essence of life.

The second concept is called Kundalini. According to the Merriam Webster dictionary, Kundalini can be described as “the feminine form of the Sanskrit adjective meaning ‘circular’ or ‘coiled’.” In yoga, the word applies to the life force that lies like a coiled serpent at the base of the spine and that can be sent along the spine to the head through prescribed postures and exercises. On the way, the kundalini passes through six chakras or points of physical or spiritual energy in the human body. At the seventh chakra, the yogi is said to experience enlightenment. The Kundalini experience is frequently reported to be a feeling of electric current running along the spine.

The Chakras

The Seven Chakras are:

  1. The Crown Chakra
  2. The 3rd Eye Chakra
  3. The Throat Chakra
  4. The Heart Chakra
  5. The Solar Plexus Chakra
  6. The Sacral Chakra
  7. The Root Chakra

The Crown Chakra

Location: Top of your head

Color: Violet

Known in Sanskrit as the Sahasrara (I.A.S.T), this is the highest chakra, what every yogi aspires to reach. It is a state of pure consciousness, within which there is neither object or subject. When the Kundalini Shakti reaches this point, it is nearly akin to reaching enlightenment in the Buddhist tradition.

The chakra is symbolized by a thousand-petal lotus flower.

The Third Eye Chakra

Location: Center of your head, slightly above eye level.

Color: Indigo

The Ajna is the chakra of perception and knowing. The dreams you have for your life are held in this chakra. Blockage of this chakra can result in things like mental rigidity and depression. It is symbolized by a lotus with two petals.

The Throat Chakra

Location: Base of the throat

Color: Turquoise

The Vishuddha is the chakra of communication, creativity, self-expression, and judgment. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, the synthesizing of ideas, healing, transformation, purification, and space. Blockage can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty or general problems in communicating ones needs to others. It is symbolized by a sixteen petaled lotus.

The Heart Chakra

Location: In your chest, just above your heart

Color: Green

Anahata, or the heart Chakra, is the place that we radiate love, compassion, joy, and happiness from. It allows us to feel sorrow, anger, lust, and sadness. The Heart Chakra is where we will find our true self, but only when we learn to accept ourselves and learn to truly love others. It is symbolized by a lotus with twelve petals.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Above the navel, but below the rib cage

Color: Yellow

Manipura, this is the energy center of our entire bodies. The Solar Plexus Chakra is responsible for self-discipline, willpower, and self-esteem. This chakra is represented as an upward pointing triangle representing fire in the middle of a lotus with ten petals.

The Sacral Chakra

Location: Lower abdomen, just below the naval

Color: Orange

Svadhisthana is the chakra that is the seed of our creativity, physical reproduction, and our connection to others. It is the center for feeling emotion, pleasure, and intimacy. It is also where our sense of abundance blooms.

It is symbolized as a six-petaled lotus.

The Root Chakra

Location: Base of the spine

Color: Red

Muladhara is the chakra associated with foundations, meaning our basic survival skills, and self-reliance. It is often linked to money which gives you financial independence. Dormant Kundalini is said to be resting here, and it the job of the yogi to develop this energy so that it eventually reaches the crown chakra.

It is symbolized as a four-petaled lotus with a yellow square at its center representing the element of earth.


The chakras are thought to provide vitality to life. The equivalent in China would be qi, and in Greek and English, it would aether. There are many advantages to further studying this subject.

The chakra system allows us to organize our lives in a balanced and wholesome way. The specifics of the practice, meditation, and yoga, fall naturally into the scheme of things. It is not necessary to be obsessive or literal about the chakras. It is not even necessary to visualize them. What is important though is that we gain access to the subtle levels of life where the hidden potential lies and to unlock it.


ShowHide Comments

Michael Quesada


Michael has travelled in dozens of countries across Asia; he is currently living in Tokyo. He writes about mindfulness, yoga,…

Daily Wellness Inspiration & News!

Complete Your Donation

Donation Amount

Personal Information

image description

Welcome back!

Don’t have an account yet? Join Here

image description

Join the Community

Join our growing community of mindful writers, and contributors. Follow your favorite authors and more!

Already have an account? Login here

image description

Reset your password

Send this to a friend