How To Open The Chakras With Sound…

How To Open The Chakras With Sound

Chakra Sound Therapy

The 7 main Chakras are areas in our body where energy flows in and out.

The word in Sanskrit means “wheel”.

These “wheels” turn.

They spin to open and close to take in energy and then push it out to distribute it through the body.

The Chakras can close down, become sluggish or not be communicating with each other very well.

Unwanted physical and/or emotional/mental symptoms can develop.

But guess what? These energy centers can be opened and regulated with a very easy, at-home practice.

By chanting certain sounds the different vibrational patterns act on each Chakra and there is one sound to go with each one.

I’m an acupuncturist and we do this practice in our clinic routinely with very positive results.

The process:  Each Chakra has its own vibration and sound is a wave, a vibration.

For each sound inhale and as you exhale say the corresponding sound 5 times, do this for 7 breaths per chakra.

Don’t be shy, let it ring out! You may notice that some Chakras are easier than others to get the sound out.

SEE ALSO: The Similarities Of Hinduism And Christianity



CHAKRA 1–the root chakra

This chakra is located at the base of the spine and perineum.

Imbalances/blockages here can manifest in the kidney, bladder, colon, spine and legs.

Other aspects of this chakra are survival/abundance issues, physical vitality and having enough money.

The sound to chant for this Chakra is LAM, pronounced LAHM.

CHAKRA 2–the sacral chakra

This chakra is located 2 fingers below the belly button.

In Chinese Medicine this is called the “Dan Tian”, a very powerful energy center.

Imbalances/blockages here can manifest in the reproductive organs.

This chakra governs sexuality, pleasure, and procreation.

It includes our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

The sound to chant for this Chakra is VAM, pronounced VAHM.

CHAKRA 3–the solar plexus

This chakra is located under and around the rib cage.

The organs involved are the stomach, liver and gall bladder.

This is a personal power energy center, or can be.

It is about our ability to be confident and in control of our lives. It’s the gateway of energy to the entire body, and includes our self esteem, power, and wisdom.

The sound to chant for this Chakra is RAM, pronounced RAHM.

CHAKRA 4–heart

This chakra is located in the chest where the heart is and the area all around it.

The organs involved are the heart, lungs, liver and circulatory system.

It’s involved with our ability to love, have compassion, and empathy.

It’s not only love for our selves, but also humanity.

The sound to chant for this Chakra is YAM, pronounced YAHM.

CHAKRA 5–throat

This chakra is located in the neck and includes the throat, lungs, and thyroid.

It’s involved with our ability to communicate, self-express, and speak the truth.

The sound to chant for this chakra is HAM, pronounced HAHM.

CHAKRA 6–third eye or brow

This chakra is located on the forehead in between the eyebrows.

The body parts involved are the autonomic nervous system, hypothalamus, and pineal gland.

It’s about intuition, imagination, abstract thinking and psychic ability.

Work here enhances our ability to focus and see the big picture in life and then make decisions.

The sound to chant for this chakra is OHM.

CHAKRA 7–crown

This chakra is located on the top of the head and extends outward and upward like a cone.

The organs involved are the pituitary gland, the brain, and the right eye.

This chakra connects us with our spiritual self and includes enlightenment, understanding, and knowledge.

Work here enhances inner and outer beauty, pure bliss…

The chant for this chakra is NG, pronounced ING.

Generally the lower three chakras work on the physical level whereas the upper chakras become more mental, emotional and spiritual.

Start at the bottom and work your way up!


ShowHide Comments

Complete Your Donation

Donation Amount

Personal Information

Send this to a friend