4 Essential Aspects Of True Love, According To Buddha…

4 Essential Aspects Of True Love, According To Buddha


In his quiet and simplistic tone, Thich Nhat Hanh explains what it means to have true love for someone.

Thich Nhat Hanh is considered to be one of the most important spiritual leaders of our time. In the 60’s, he was banned from his Vietnam home for 39 years for peacefully protesting the war. He then worked with MLK Jr. and other important leaders to bring about peace, mindfulness, and compassion to the world.

He even convinced MLK to come out against the Vietnam war.

The video below just gives further testimony toward his wisdom and sincere desire to help others.

SEE ALSO: Buddha’s 6 Rules Of Love

From the video:

  1. Maitri Nothing can be as powerful as love and kindness. They create happiness. When you develop these feelings, it creates true love. This is especially true if you can help another person create these feelings as well. If you’re a source of joy and happiness for someone else, that’s true love.
  2. Karuna Suffering is the root of all human pain. True love is making yourself and others suffer less. “There is an art of suffering. If you know how to suffer, you suffer much, much less.”
  3. Mahakaruna If you practice compassion, it will grow. Others will pick up on this energy and embrace it in their own lives.
  4. Upeksha Without joy, love is not love. If love makes another cry every day, it’s not love.

“True love is capable of generating joy for yourself and for the other person.”


ShowHide Comments

Matt Caron

652 Followers2 Following

Matt is the content manager of the Sivana blog, an enthusiastic Yoga teacher, and life voyager. He strives to inspire…

Complete Your Donation

Donation Amount

Personal Information

Send this to a friend