7 Yoga Poses & 7 Affirmations To Open Your Chakras…

7 Yoga Poses & 7 Affirmations To Open Your Chakras


We all have seven main energy centers in our bodies called chakras.

These chakras impact the quality of your life in every aspect of who you are – physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.

Think of your chakras as a blueprint for taking care of yourself and your yoga practice as the designer that makes that blueprint come to life.

When we practice yoga asanas we are actually moving the energy that is stagnant, lodged and stuck. This allows your chakras to open for vibrant health and spiritual awakening.

When we combine yoga poses with affirmations it becomes a powerful force and a beautiful way of beginning to open and balance our energy centers for feeling aligned, blissful and balanced.

Many of the same yoga poses can open different chakras, so the most important thing to remember when practicing is that it’s all about your intention and focus during the pose.  

For each pose, bring your attention to the area of your body for the chakra you’re working on.

We are deeply strengthening your mind-body connection by combining yoga poses with the power of your thought to create deep transformation in your mind, body and soul. It feels so good!

SEE ALSO: Buddha’s 6 Rules Of Love

Root Chakra: I Am Safe

Located at the base of our spine, this chakra relates to our basic human needs for survival, security and stability. When it’s balanced we feel grounded, alive and safe.  

Mountain Pose:

Stand with your feet hip-width apart. Keep a slight bend in the knees and press all four corners of your feet into the ground. Allow your shoulders to relax, stand tall, and open your palms forward.

Maintain a strong core and tuck your tailbone down.

Stay here for 5-10 breaths, and with each inhale repeat the affirmation, “I am safe.” On your exhale bring your attention to your feet rooting into the mat.  

Sacral Chakra: I Live a Healthy and Passionate Life

This chakra is located just below the navel and relates to reproduction at the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual level — particularly with reproductive organs, creativity, joy, relationships and passions.

When this chakra is balanced we will feel passionate, sexually fulfilled and in an all-around good mood.

Half Pigeon Pose:

Bring your shin forward with the front knee over to its own side.

Back leg is extended straight behind you. Feel free to prop up with a folded blanket or yoga block under your thigh to help level out your hips.

Fold over your leg, reaching the arms and chest forward. Stay for 10 breaths, allowing your awareness to be on your sacral chakra area — the area below the navel and around the hips. With each breath repeat the affirmation, “I live a healthy and passionate life.”

Solar Plexus Chakra: I Am The Powerful Creator Of My Own Life

The solar plexus chakra is located directly in the stomach area and plays a major role in  personal power, drive, confidence and ability to take action.

When this chakra is balanced we feel confident, outgoing and can easily solve problems.

High Plank:

Bring yourself into a high push-up position, making sure that your shoulders are directly above your wrists, fingers wide and core engaged.

Feel free to drop down to your knees to modify (making sure your core is still engaged). Keep your gaze in between your hands to lengthen your spine and hold for 5-10 full breaths.

Bring your awareness to your core as you breathe and repeat the affirmation, “I am the powerful creator of my own life.”  Because you are!

Heart Chakra: I See All Things In Love Including Myself

Located at the center of our chest, the heart chakra is our center of healing, the heart of our life and the key to the inner-peace that governs our ability to give and receive love unconditionally.

When this chakra is balanced we feel loved, centered, and peaceful.  

Wheel Pose:

Lie on your back with the soles of your feet on the floor, close to your sitting bones, feet hip-width apart. Place your hands on the floor just above your shoulders with fingers spread wide, finger tips pointing towards your shoulders.

Press firmly into your hands and feet as you lift your chest up, straightening your arms and legs. If wheel pose isn’t in your practice (yet), you can begin to work with the heart chakra by practicing bridge pose.

Once in wheel (or bridge), take 5 full breaths and repeat the affirmation, “I see all things in love, including myself.”

Throat Chakra: I Effortlessly Speak My Truth

This chakra is located at our throat and impacts our ability to express and articulate our thoughts and ideas. When this chakra is balanced we feel like we can express ourselves, our creativity, and speak our truth.  

Fish Pose:

Lay on your back, and place your hands (palms facing down) underneath your bottom.

Roll your shoulders close to your spine and at the same time bring your elbows as close to your body as possible.

Once you feel stable, gently press into your elbows and open your heart up. Drop the crown of your head to the mat and feel your throat open for 5-10 full breaths repeating to yourself, “I effortlessly speak my truth.”

Third Eye Chakra: As I Tap Into My Inner Wisdom, I Know That All Is Well In My World

The third eye chakra is located at the center of our forehead, between our eyebrows.

Our third eye helps us to tap into our inner guidance and highest self. When balanced, this chakra will help us to be deeply connected to our intuition, connected to our purpose and able to see the big picture of life.

Child’s Pose:

Come into child’s pose by coming to your knees, bringing your big toes to touch and shifting your knees towards the outer edges of your mat.

Walk your hands forward, bringing your forehead to the ground, softening your heart center and letting your hips relax towards your ankles.

Bring your awareness to your third eye center while staying for 10 full breaths repeating the affirmation, “As I tap into my inner wisdom, I know that all is well in my world.”

Crown Chakra: I Am One With Divine Energy

The crown chakra is located at the top of head and governs our consciousness and path to enlightenment. When balanced you feel joyous, wise, connected to God/Universe/Energy through the ability to see yourself as one with the universe and that all things are connected.

Easy Seat:

Come to an easy seat on your mat (feel free to prop up on a block or blanket).  

Find a tall spine, relax your shoulders and close your eyes.  

Allow your palms to face up while resting on your knees in order to receive the energy you’re connecting to.

Stay for 10 full breaths, repeating the affirmation, “I am one with divine energy.”


ShowHide Comments

Alisha Leytem

Alisha is a Certified Wellness Coach, Yoga Teacher, Reiki Practitioner, and nature enthusiast. She’s the founder of the <a href="https://www.facebook.com/groups/986448854728072/">Zen…

Complete Your Donation

Donation Amount

Personal Information

Send this to a friend